3D Picture continued

In case you were wondering, I haven’t forgotten the cupcake box! I am almost at the painting stage and I prefer to “bulk paint” so I am waiting until I have a couple of things to paint.

I used paper mache clay to do the background of my 3D picture in the end. I did it first with paper strips using some left over wallpaper paste from my husband’s decorating. I neglected to realise that as he was putting thick lining paper up with it that he had made it with more water than normal so I ended up removing it all and doing it again :(. The backing had warped slightly due to the excess water in the paste but it is recoverable! I haven’t got a picture at the moment as I simply haven’t taken one (lazy mare!). At this stage there is a few choices you can make:

1. To sand or not? If you want a nice smooth finish to it you can go over it carefully with sand paper. Remember not to press too hard or it will crack! 

2. To add a finishing coat or not? Again, you may want to do this if you want a smooth finish or to fill in any small gaps. I picked this tip up from this site. Simply mix PVA glue and filler! The ratio depends on how thin you want it but I tend to go either 1:1 or 1 part filler to 2 parts PVA. For this I will probably do the latter.

Once all that has dried you can paint it however you wish! Don’t forget to varnish it to protect it!

Leave a Reply

